[Go Back]

Using 2008 ThinkPad as your main computer in 2023



This is the first blog post on this site, i'm rly excited :3
Okay, so, as you might know, i'm not the richest guy on the planet, that forces me to not be an stupid consoomer and actually care about my shit. I got this Thinkpad T400 when I was 9 years old, and i'm still using it as my main computer today! It also works really well and does the job I require it to do. Here are my tips that will help you use an old piece of shit like this in <current year>

1. SSD Drive

SSD's can be really pricey, but it's really worth it! I'm using an 120GB one and I got it from my uncle who works in IT (I also got this computer from him). Shit works FAST, no corruptions, you can hold it and move it all you want. I do not regret the change really. It's not required, especially if you don't have jewbux for it, just saying that it's worth it!

2. Operating System

You can guess that Winblows 10 & 11 are not an option, and that's a good thing! Unless you use SSD, then you might possibly work on Windows 10, but why would you! If you want to use Windows, then 7 is probably your best bet. Windows 7 is my personal favourite OS by Microsoft, it works really good, never crashed for me. Looks really good, probably the nicest looking Windows next to Vista. I run it with Aero on and it uses like 4% of CPU with palemoon running neocities html editor. But I really must recommend Linux here, or I should say GANOO PLUS LINOX. If you have an SSD, then even the most bloated systemd distro with the latest Gnome will work like charm, but I don't think you are a fag that uses Gnome. XFCE is the best desktop without a second of thinking, and running it on systemd-free distro and SSD is just performance orgasm :D

3. Browser

Goolag Chrome and Jewfox are shit browsers, use Pale Moon or SeaMonkey. I prefer Pale Moon because it's not Mozillaware, but semenmonkey is still great and looks really nice!

4. SOYcial Media

I don't use Soycial Media (except youtube sometimes). But I know that those are bloated to hell and back. The official sites are too bloated to work steamlessly, so you should be using Invidious for youtube Nitter for twitter, mbasic.facebook.com for facebook and old.reddit.com for le reddit. Please quit soycial media, this shit really will kill this shithole of a civilisation. Imageboards, IRC and Neocities are better for you.

5. Last Wordz

As you can see, you don't need to have the newest computer to live in this shithole of a world, and 15 year old computers are fine too.